Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Yeah, But Does He DJay? Mixtape (1996)

This mix marks an era in time where I was newly made aware of the worldwide potential of taking part in the whole mixtape scene. I credit the owner & founder of  Fat Beats, Joseph Abajian for encouraging me to make mixes featuring the independent underground artist who never got the well deserved visibility in the commercial market. I can't begin to describe how grateful I am to Fat Beats for being the vehicle to many of the accomplishments I achieved in this field of music. I'm not too sure where I would be without this store. Also big shouts to my boy DJ Riz...the title "Yeah,But Does He DJay?" is something we use to ask when  describing a random person riding the DJ title without possessing any true DJ skills. Keep in mind, this was only my 2nd mixtape release, done way before Logic Audio, Pro-Tools, & CD's...this was available only on cassette tape at that time. I must make mention of the LIVE FREESTYLE session by A Tribe Called Quest with me on the tables!! Major shouts to DJ Jazzy Jeff, DJ 3D, DJ Eclipse, DJ Just Dizle, and DJ Nino Brown for the constant levels of support over the years!!!!


Yeah, But Does He DJay? Mixtape (1996)

DJ A.Vee's Yeah But Does He DJay? Mixtape (1996): 
01. The Interview (Sadat X)
02. Find That (The Beatnuts)
03. Baby Phife's Return (A Tribe Called Quest)
04. Paper Thin (Bahamadia)
05. Real Kukoo (Kukoo Da Bag-A-Bonez)
06. No (Chuck D)
07. The Prowl (Heltah Skeltah)
08. The Bitch In Yoo (Common)
09. $100 Bill (Large Professor)
10. Dinninit (De La Soul)
11. Acting - Instrumental w/"Vee" time killa!!! (Ed O.G)
12. A Tribe Called Quest Freestyle w/Vee on the set!!
13. Usual Suspect (Big Noyd)
14. Stick You (Capone-N-Noreaga)
15. Rainy Dayz - Remix (Raekwon)
16. Jackpot (Blahzay Blahzay)
17. Lick A Shot (Dead Poetz Society)
18. Leave Your Style Cramped (PMD)
19. Peace Akki (Al'Tariq)
20. 304's (Ed O.G)
21. Concerto Of The Desperado (The Roots)
22. Supa Dupa (Mr. Live)
23. DJ 3D instrumental track w/"Vee" time killa!!

DJ A.Vee on iTunes
DJ A.Vee's Podcast

Saturday, August 28, 2010

Extended Drunk Mix Show (2005)

This was a mix done on Lord Sear's Extended Drunk Mix Show on Eminem's satellite radio station SHADE45. The set is a collection of some good ol' grimy Hip Hop tracks. Without a doubt, one of my craziest set with my boy Lord Sear hosting the the night. Yeah NO PRETTY R&B joints on this one yall!!!


Send me a message if ya interested in the tacklist...
Free DOWNLOAD of: Extended Drunk Mix Show (2005)

Monday, August 23, 2010

DJ A.Vee's Cornerstone Suite 903 Mix - Unreleased Version

Back in 2001 Cornerstone Promotions launched the Suite 903 series of mix compositions. The goal was to promote & present an alternative selection of music that never really got the proper exposure in the urban market. The double CD series began with Rich Medina and myself. Although not for sell, the CD reached alot of people with Cornerstone Promotion's huge marketing campaigns. However, this version of my mix for the series never got released. Hope you enjoy it!


DJ A.Vee's Cornerstone Suite 903 Mix - Unreleased Version (2001):

Friday, March 5, 2010

DJ A.Vee's Mix for DJ Little Maze's DJ Salat Volume 4 (2008)

Hey folks...I dug up this mini-mix I did for my boy DJ Little Maze from Switzerland. Every year he puts together a mix cd made up of twenty 3.5 minute contributions from selected DJ's and artist to make up this "DJ Salad" or "DJ Salat". This particular volume featured DJ Little Maze, myself, DJ Revolution, Haitian Star, Thaid,Rascue, Steve Supreme, Rakaa Iriscience (from Dilated Peoples) to name a few. I know three and a half minutes doesn't seem like a long time, but that was the challenging part of the assignment. Inaddition to that, standing out from the pack or not playing the same generic shit was the other challenge.

To enjoy the 20 DJ mix in its entirety, be sure to pick up DJ Little Maze's DJ Salat Volume 4. Hope you folks enjoy my portion of the CD.

Big shouts to those who looked out with the exclusives for this mix:
DJ Jazzy Jeff, Prince Paul, Bumpy Knuckles, Mahsa Naimi, Big Tona, Dynas, DJ Spinna, & shouts to DJ Little Maze for making me part of Volume #4's line-up.


DJ A.Vee's Mix for DJ Little Maze's DJ Salat Volume 4 (2008):

01 The DJ A.Vee Introduction
02 Dynas - True Dat
03 I.G. Off & Hazadous - Hip Hop Till I Die
04 Bumpy Knuckles - Piped Out
05 Tona - Keep Telling You
06 J Dilla - Say It feat. Ta'Raach
07 J Dilla - Shotgun (Outro)

Sunday, February 7, 2010

DJ A.Vee's "Regardless VII" Mixtape (1999)

Must admit an insane amount of time has passed since my last posting.
(None of that B.S anymore!!!)
Aaaanywayyys....Anyone who knows me, knows I'm a very modest & humble person. However, hands down this mix right here was one of my greatest compositions (in my mind at least). Having a circle of friends who happened to be some of the most respected DJ's on the planet really pushed me to not just work hard are getting "Exclusives" but also pushed me to step up the skill level in creating this back in late 1999
(Wow its been over ten years!!).
Big shouts to those who looked out with the exclusives for this mix:
DJ Jazzy Jeff, DJ Eclipse, DJ Spin One, DJ Evil Dee, DJ 3D, DJ Riz,
DJ Spinbad, DJ Spinna, J-Live, Mr. Morgan, &

Hope you folks enjoy "Regardless VII" or known by some as "Regardless 7"


DJ A.Vee's "Regardless VII" Mixtape (1999)

01 The DJ A.Vee Introduction
02 Mood Swingaz - A Finite Number Of Starts (Exclusive)
03 Rascalz Featuring The Beatnuts - Can't Relate
04 Blackmoon - Air Tight (Unreleased Exclusive)
05 Pace Won - The Champion
06 J-Live - Freestyle (Exclusive)
07 Ill Bill - How To Kill A Cop
08 Eminem feat. Paul Yams & DJ Jazzy Jeff - Ya Hear Me (Unreleased Exclusive)
09 Fat Kat Kareem - Life
10 Obscure Disorder Featuring Non Phixion - 2004
11 MC Juggunot feat. DJ Spin One - Who's That (Unreleased Exclusive)
12 Reflection Eternal - Some Kind Of Wonderful
13 El Da Sensei - Where Ya At (Unreleased Exclusive)
14 Tony Touch feat. Mos Def & De La Soul - What's That - (Que Eso)
15 Ilacoin Featuring Sadat X - Keep It Street (Exclusive)
16 Jigmastas - Lyrical Fluctuation (Remix)
17 Choclair - Rubbin'
18 Phat Cat - Dedicated
19 El Da Sensei - Keep It Live
20 DJ A.Vee Re-Introduction
21 D.I.T.C. - Get Yours (Remix)
22 Rah Digga - The Lesson Of The Day
23 Jay-Z - Anything (Remix)
24 The Creators Featuring Mos Def & Talib Kweli - The Hard Margin
25 Reflection Eternal - Human Element
26 Lox - Recognize
27 Masta Ace - Observe